Home » Admin » Wave Weekly » New JU Beta Gamma members inducted; Finley, Hoffman honored

New JU Beta Gamma members inducted; Finley, Hoffman honored

By Courtney Jimenez

JU Communications Senior

JU’s chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma, the international honor society for business, initiated new members  March 7 in the Kinne University Center. Senior Alexandra Hoffman was introduced as the scholarship recipient for the year, and Renee Finley ’88 ’02 was named an honorary member.

New JU Beta Gamma members were inducted March 7. Photo by Courtney Jimenez

Beta Gamma Sigma is the honor society for students enrolled in business and management programs accredited by AACSB International – The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Election to lifetime membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest honor a business student anywhere in the world can receive in an undergraduate or master’s program at a school accredited by AACSB International.

Todd Hall, JU assistant professor of sport business, said Hoffman was a triple threat on Jacksonville University’s campus.

JU Senior Alexandra Hoffman

“Alexandra is an excellent scholar, an amazing athlete and a contributing citizen to the community,” he said.

According to Hall, Hoffman has held a perfect 4.0 GPA throughout college, is a member of Phi Kappa Phi and was recognized by Advantage Business Magazine as one of the Top 40 students in the Davis College of Business. She was a spring 2013 Beta Gamma inductee and was chosen to receive the annual Beta Gamma $100 Scholarship based on an essay she wrote and her outstanding GPA and JU contributions.

Her other accomplishments include:

  • President’s List each semester
  • Brumos Circle of Excellence
  • Beta Gamma Sigma
  • 2014 Lead manager of JU’s Fin Fund
  • 2013 A-Sun Scholar Athlete of the Year
  • 2012-2013 Academic All-Conference
  • 2012 1st team all conference
  • 2012 MVP JU Women’s lacrosse attacker
  • 2012 Lead JU women’s lacrosse team in points and assists
  • Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association Academic Honor Roll.

“As a freshman, I saw one of my classmates get invited to join Beta Gamma Sigma, and I immediately went back to my dorm and researched it,” said Hoffman, a business major and lacrosse player. “I realized what an honor it would be to be part of such a prestigious society and knew I had to make goals for myself to succeed something like this.”

JU alum Renee Finley

Meanwhile, Finley, vice president of Innovation and Market Intelligence for Florida Blue and a JU EMBA graduate, offered the students some words of advice as they proceed with their education and careers.

“Each of you has this wonderful gift ahead of you of the many paths not yet taken,” she said. “We start out on a path of life without always knowing where that path will lead, but eventually we will find our way.”

The key to success on the path is education, she said.

“Learning is truly the foundation of life. Without the education I received at JU, I wouldn’t have gotten a job with Florida Blue Cross and Blue Shield, and I wouldn’t still be there 16 years later.”

Undergraduate inductees into the honor society are in the top 10 percent of their class; graduate students are in the top 20 percent of their class. Only the best business students in the world, and the professionals who earned the distinction of “the Best in Business” during their academic careers, can claim membership in Beta Gamma Sigma.

Davis College of Business Beta Gamma Sigma officers are Dr. Don Capener, chapter dean; Dr. Matrecia James, Chapter President; Dr. Angela Mattia, chapter advisor and vice president; Dr. Hugh Van Seaton, chapter treasurer; Dr. John Shaw, scholarship director; and Mary Boggs, chapter graduate director.

For information on Beta Gamma Sigma’s JU chapter, contact Mattia at amattia@ju.edu. For more information on the Beta Gamma Sigma honor society, visit betagammasigma.org

Following are the newest JU Beta Gamma Sigma inductees:

Juniors: Joseph Merritt and Victoria Seitz.

Seniors: Theresa Acevedo, Kristopher Bacon, Macy Bedingfield, David Dibagno, Carlie Gehlhausen, Ellis Harr, Samuel Helms, Shaun Hysler, Jena Kent, Krista Lamberti, Sonya Larson, Tanja Leiser, Alexis Richens, Rodney Smith, Charles Springer, Lisa Stover and Toi Tanner.

Masters: Subbarao  Ayyagari, Maram Alessa, Faisal Alhunaiti, Fahad Althanyan, Matthew Bauer, Andrew Broyles, Ryan Bush, Brian Dodson, Christopher Farrell, Tyler Fugitt, Ranganath Gangasani, Herbert Hadley, Thomas Johnston, Kelli Kemple, Michelle Markum, Juliane Mickler, Janice Milligan, Tetiana Musiienko, Ashishkumar Nayak, Amy O’Brien, Martina Partee, Amanda Poole, Kiran Reddi, Frances Teller and Haomin Yang.

Chapter honoree: Renee Finley, vice president, Innovation and Market Intelligence, Florida Blue.