Home » Topics » Academics » Four faculty members earn Awards for Excellence
Faculty Awards for Excellence

Four faculty members earn Awards for Excellence

Jacksonville University faculty named Associate Professor of Voice Dr. Kimberly Beasley Professor of the Year and also presented her with the Excellence in University Service Award last week during a virtual faculty assembly.

“I can’t speak more highly of Kimberly’s commitment across the areas that are critically important to our mission: teaching, service, creativity and scholarship,” said Provost Dr. Chris Sapienza, who announced the awards and said she hoped to bring faculty together for a recognition dinner in the fall. “I congratulate her on her example as a teacher, community leader, faculty committee member, mentor and scholar.”

In addition to Dr. Beasley, Associate Professor of Chemistry Dr. Gretchen Bielmyer-Fraser received the Excellence in Scholarship and Professional Activities Award, Assistant Professor of Mathematics Dr. Erika Ward received the Excellence in Teaching Award, and Assistant Professor and Clinical Director of Clinical Mental Health Counseling Dr. Natalie Indelicato received the Excellence in Community Service Award.

Dr. George Hall, Resource Professor of Finance and Accounting, and Dr. Michael Nancarrow, Professor of Mathematics, were also finalists for Professor of the Year.

Dr. Beasley, who has taught at the University since 2008, is newly elected Chair of Music and Director of Vocal Studies. Peter Lang Publishing will publish her book “Dramatism and Musical Theater: Experiments in Rhetorical Performance” this year. At the 2019 Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival, her directing of scenes from “Into the Woods” was acknowledged with an Excellence Award.

She also served as Chair of the Faculty Affairs Committee and led a revision of the Faculty Annual Activities Review and Faculty Annual Evaluation process. She also developed a proposal for non-tenured faculty to move to a tenure line. Additionally, Dr. Beasley served on 10 University committees, including those developing the Experiential Learning Assessment and Medical Humanities and Gender Studies minors. She was also Chapter President of the American Association of University Professors from 2016-2019.

Dr. Bielmyer-Fraser has served as a mentor for 55 undergraduate students and eight graduate students throughout her career. She has also published more than 45 articles, 12 technical reports, three book chapters, and secured almost $1 million in grant funding. She is also the first woman to earn tenure in the University Chemistry Department. Next year, she will become the first person in the Chemistry Department to teach a chemistry course abroad.

Dr. Ward is the Department Chair of Mathematics and a member of the University’s Pathways of Distinction (PODs) task force. She served as coordinator for the international Mathematics Contest in Modeling competition, which was held at the University. She is a Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Fellow, who also led workshops for middle and high school teachers. She was the first professor to instruct the “Discover, Decode, Decide” course at the University.

Dr. Indelicato is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor and Qualified Supervisor in the State of Florida. She is a member of the American Counseling Association and one of its divisions, the Association for Counselor Education and Supervision, where she organizes annual gatherings of women counselor educators. As a member of the Florida Crisis Response Team, she provides counseling services in emergency situations. Dr. Indelicato works with Hands to Love, serves as a member of the Delores Barr Weaver Policy Center Girls Collaborative and on the Board of Hope at Hand. She also provides a pro-bono counseling support group in collaboration with Brooks Rehabilitation Aphasia Center.