Home » Admin » Wave Weekly » Jacksonville University filmmakers honored at Campus MovieFest Hollywood

Jacksonville University filmmakers honored at Campus MovieFest Hollywood

From CMF Media

ATLANTA – Campus MovieFest (CMF), the world’s largest student film festival, has announced the award-winning films representing Jacksonville University at Campus MovieFest Hollywood from June 21-23.

CMF visited JU this past spring, providing equipment, training and technical support to students, faculty and staff to create their own five-minute movie in just one week, all for free. Campus judges decided the top JU movies, and a red-carpet finale was held on campus to screen the students’ work and announce winning films.

These films, along with more than 200 other winning films from schools across the globe, will screen at CMF Hollywood and be judged by an industry panel of judges who will determine the winning films from the 2011-12 Campus MovieFest World Tour.

The following films will represent Jacksonville University at CMF Hollywood:

“Sexual Education: The Touchy Subject” by Clueless Morgans. Theater major Janae LaFleur directed and co-wrote the ‘50s-style satirical PSA about sex education with student and fellow writer Roy Matos.

“Lie With Me” by One More Take (film majors Nora Shychuk and Jairid Pacileo).

“The Talk” by Brain Tumbler Productions (film major Brian Trumble).

“JU should be proud of their students’ work. We can’t wait for everyone to experience the amazing weekend of events we have planned for them,” said David Roemer, co-founder of CMF.

CMF Hollywood events include workshops and panels by industry professionals, sneak-peek screenings of Hollywood movies, special events, networking opportunities and a red-carpet awards ceremony, featuring industry presenters. All students, friends, family members and the public are invited to attend and represent JU at the weekend of events.

Last year’s CMF events welcomed guest presenters and workshop hosts including Jeff Goldblum (Jurassic Park), Elizabeth Banks (The Hunger Games), Jack McBrayer (30 Rock), John Cho (Star Trek), James Van Der Beek (Dawson’s Creek), Wes Bentley (The Hunger Games), Rob Corrdry (Children’s Hospital), Alice Eve (The Raven), McG (This Means War) and more. This year’s industry line-up will be announced in June.

More information about CMF Hollywood is at www.campusmoviefest.com/hollywood. See all the films created at JU at www.campusmoviefest.com/festivals/310-jacksonville-university.

Past winners have walked away with more than $2 million in prizes and seen their films on the big screens at CMF events nationwide, at the Cannes Film Festival and on millions of smaller screens, including in-flight on Virgin America and online.