Home » Admin » Wave Weekly » Dr. Karen Jackson honored as JU Professor of the Year at Faculty Awards Dinner

Dr. Karen Jackson honored as JU Professor of the Year at Faculty Awards Dinner

2013 JU Professor of the Year Karen Jackson

Dr. Karen Jackson, Professor of Biology and Director of the Marilyn Repsher Center for Teaching and Learning at Jacksonville University, was honored Friday, March 29 as Jacksonville University’s 2013-14 Professor of the Year.

The award and other honors were presented at JU’s 55th annual Faculty Recognition Dinner at the Davis College of Business.

The  2012-2013 Professor of the Year was Dr. William Crosby, dean of JU’s College of Interdisciplinary and Professional Studies.

Jackson has been a member of the Jacksonville University family since the 1980s. She has made many notable contributions to JU, including serving on the following committees: Faculty Affairs, Honors Council, Undergraduate Research Council, Graduation Committee, Calendar Committee, Orientation and Common Reading. Most recently, she chaired and served as the self-designated “head cheerleader” of the JU Quality Enhancement Plan team for reaccreditation.

Jackson also has chaired the Faculty Planning and Budget Committee and is the faculty sponsor for Green Key and the Class Gift. She was also the recipient of the Tim Shakespeare Award from Campus Activities and the Excellence in University Service Award, among others. Jackson has also earned grants for multiple projects, including Enhancement of the Undergraduate Curriculum: Instrumentation of Cell and Molecular Biology Courses; The Many Faces of AIDS; and The Ethical, Legal and Social Implications of the Human Genome Project. She was also selected as faculty for the 21st-Century by Project Kaleidoscope.

The following awards also were presented at the Faculty Recognition Dinner:

Faculty Awards in Excellence:

  • in Teaching: Dr. Timothy Snyder, Assistant Professor of Music/Director of Vocal Studies
  • in Community Service: Artie Clifton, Associate Professor of Music
  • in Scholarship & Professional Activities: Dr. Maggie Foley, Assistant Professor of Finance; and Dr. Jorge Majfud, Assistant Professor of Spanish
  • in University Service: Dr. Brian Lane, Assistant Professor of Physics

Professor Emeritus:

  • Dr. Bashir Sayar, Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
  • Dr. Nancy Thomas, Professor Emerita of Art History


  • Dr. Stephen Baker, Professor of Political Science – 28 years of service
  • Dr. Robert Hollister, Associate Professor of Mathematics  – 19 years of service
  • Dr. Peter Ryan, Associate Professor of Mathematics – 35 years of Service

Service Awards:

  • 20 years – Dr. William Crosby and Dr. Gordon Arbogast
  • 25 years – Dr. Sherri Jackson, Mr. David Jones, Dr. Barry Thornton
  • 30 years – Dr. Craig Buettinger, Dr. Hassan Pordeli, Dr. Fred Senftleber, Dr. Paul Simony
  • 35 years – Anna Large, Dr. Peter Ryan
  • 45 years – Dr. Walker Blanton

Here’s a photo gallery from the Faculty Recognition Dinner:



One comment

  1. Dr. Jackson was one of my favorite professors in 1995-1996. She is very deserving. Congratulations on your recognition.