Home » Topics (page 105)

Topics

Month of Heroes: Joshua Hasty

Meet Joshua Hasty.monthofheroes-joshuahasty

Age: 35

Year and major: Freshman/Business Administration

Hometown: Jacksonville

Branch/Rank: U.S. Navy/AG2/E-5

Service: 1997-2004 (7 years); boot camp Great Lakes, 1997; Meteorology and Oceanographer school, Keesler AFB, 1997-1998; Naval Central Mobile Environmental …

Read More »

Month of Heroes: Horace H. Head

Meet Horace H. Head.monthofheroes-horacehead

Age: 32

Year and major: Sophomore/Psychology

Hometown: Tallahassee, Fla.

Branch/Rank: U.S. Marines/Sergeant

Service: 8 years, 4 tours (Afghanistan, Iraq, Republic of Georgia)

Tell us about your service experience. During a …

Read More »

Month of Heroes: Samuel Helms

Meet Samuel Helms.monthofheroes-samuelhelms

Age: 46

Year and major: Sophomore/Management

Hometown: Jacksonville

Branch/Rank: U.S. Navy, MM1/SS (Ret).

Service: Completed 20 years, with service on USS Scamp (SSN-588), USS Seahorse (SSN-669), USS Wyoming (SSBN-742 Gold) and USS …

Read More »

Month of Heroes: Melissa Jackson

Meet Melissa Jackson.monthofheroes-melissajackson

Age: 26

Year and major: Sophomore/Nursing

Hometown: Born in Memphis, Tenn., raised in Jacksonville.

Branch/Rank: U.S. Navy/E4/Petty Officer 3rd Class

Service: 4 years in service: 3 active-duty, currently an active reservist. Stationed …

Read More »

Month of Heroes: Eric Lee

Meet Eric Lee.

Age: 27

Year and major: Senior/Finance

Homestate: Louisiana

Branch/Rank: U.S. Navy/E-5

Service: 5 years, Counter Narcotics (South America), Med Cruise, Baltic Cruise, and IA (Individual Augmentee) Tour to Guantanamo Bay.

What are

Read More »

Month of Heroes: Lissette Matos Minehart

Meet Lissette Matos Minehart.monthofheroes-lissettematosminehart

Age:  29

Year and major: Senior/Spanish

Hometown: Jacksonville

Branch/Rank: U.S. Army/Sergeant

Service: 3 tours (Afghanistan, Iraq, Kuwait) 7 years active, 4 years reserve

Tell us about your service experience. You …

Read More »

Month of Heroes: Matthew Parrish

Meet Matthew Parrish.monthofheroes-matthewparrish

Age: 30

Year and major: Junior/Psychology

Hometown: Baton Rouge, La

Branch/Rank: U.S. Army/Specialist

Service: 3 years, 6 months; 2 tours of duty Operation Enduring Freedom (OEF)/Operation Iraqi Freedom (OIF) 1 2003 Invasion; …

Read More »

Month of Heroes: Norberto Perez

Meet Norberto Perez.monthofheroes-norbertoperez

Age: 27

Year and major: Junior/History

Hometown: Fayetteville, N.C.

Branch/Rank: Army/SSG

Service: 7 years, Afghanistan (07-08), Korea (09-10)

Tell us about your service experience. While serving overseas both in combat and …

Read More »

Month of Heroes: Adam Ryan Shramek

Meet Adam Ryan Shramek.

monthofheroes-adamryanshramekAge: 28

Year and major: Senior/Political Science

Hometown: Omaha, Neb.

Branch/Rank: U.S. Navy, Officer Candidate (STA-21)

Service: 10 years of service. I joined the Navy in the Delayed Entry Program in …

Read More »

Month of Heroes: Brandon Sugar

Meet Brandon Sugar.monthofheroes-brandonsugar

Age: 27

Year and major: Sophomore/Psychology

Hometown: Jacksonville

Branch/Rank: U.S. Army/Sergeant

Service: 6 years, tours in Afghanistan and Iraq

Tell us about your service experience. While serving in Afghanistan, I saw …

Read More »